Tuesday, May 28, 2024
HomeNewsViking Yacht CEO honoured with award

Viking Yacht CEO honoured with award

The Center for Sportfishing Policy (CSP) has honoured Viking Yacht Company CEO and president Pat Healey with its Eddie Smith Manufacturer of the Year Award.

The accolade recognises Healey’s significant contributions to marine conservation and industry leadership, his visionary leadership and his relentless advocacy for policies supporting the marine industry, emphasising his pivotal role in legislative battles. 

The award was presented by CSP president Jeff Angers during the American Boating Congress industry lunch, hosted by the National Marine Manufacturers Association (NMMA).

“Like Eddie Smith, Pat Healey embodies the spirit of this award through his transformative leadership, uniting stewardship of America’s fishery resources with industry-leading manufacturing,” said Jeff.

“Pat’s unwavering commitment has unified our industry against bad federal policy, including overly restrictive regulations. He has cemented his legacy with straight talk and strong leadership for America’s recreational fishing and boating community.”

Pat has led Viking Yachts through its 60th anniversary and the creation of Valhalla Boatworks, among other manufacturing milestones.

Commitment to conservation

The Eddie Smith Manufacturer of the Year Award is named after the chairman and CEO of Grady-White Boats.

It was established by CSP to honour individuals who demonstrate a commitment to conservation in the marine industry.

Eddie Smith, known for his roles on numerous boards including NMMA, Coastal Conservation Association and Congressional Sportsmen’s Foundation, set a standard of excellence and dedication to both manufacturing and conservation.

He received the first-ever American Sportfishing Association Lifetime Achievement Award and is a member of the NMMA Hall of Fame.

Past recipients of the award include AFTCO’s Bill Shedd; Bass Pro Shops’ Johnny Morris; Maverick Boats Founder Scott Deal; NMMA Past President Thom Dammrich; Shimano’s Dave Pfeiffer; Sportsman Boats’ Tommy Hancock, Regulator Marine President Joan Maxwell and Yamaha’s Phil Dyskow and Ben Speciale.

The Center for Sportfishing Policy is an advocate for saltwater recreational anglers in the US.

The Center organises, focuses and engages recreational fishing stakeholders to shape federal marine fisheries management policies.


Most Popular

error: Content is protected !!