Tuesday, June 18, 2024
HomeNewsYachting Journalists’ Association award nominations open

Yachting Journalists’ Association award nominations open

Nominations have opened for the Yachting Journalists’ Association (YJA) awards 2023.

The Yachtsman of the Year, Young Sailor of the Year and Young Journalist of the year awards recognise and honour outstanding achievements and contributions within the world of boating and media, by celebrating excellence in performance, seamanship, sportsmanship and youth talent.

The Yachtsman of the Year has been a highlight of the yachting calendar since it was founded in 1955 by the late Sir Max Aitken, chairman of Express Newspapers and himself a leading yachtsman.

The Young Sailor of the Year Award was first introduced in 1993 to recognise young upcoming talent on the water, and the Young Journalist of the Year Award has subsequently been introduced to encourage and reward budding talent in the industry.


“It is always exciting to begin the process with this nomination period, as we never know who may be put forward to be considered for one of the awards, or for what,” said Cliff Webb, YJA chairman. “These trophies truly recognise the very best in British boating. I am also very interested to see new nominations for the YJA Young Journalist of the Year, which is designed to encourage those just starting out, which can be in any medium, and who knows what doors this may open in the industry for them.”

The 2022 winners included Hattie Rogers for her win at the SailGP WASZP INSPIRE Grand Final in San Francisco, described as ‘The face of the foiling generation’ by sailing journalist Magnus Wheatley, and iQFoil windsurfing youth world champion Charlie Dixon.

All three YJA Awards are open to those holding a British passport, with the Young Sailor of the Year and Young Journalist of the Year open to those under the age of 19 on the 31st December 2023.

The nomination period is open until 23:59 on Sunday 8th October, and is open to anyone.

The YJA Committee will then decide on the final three nominations for each award, and the YJA memberships will vote on their selection in each category.

Nominations should be submitted via https://lnkd.in/evJS2ERJ

Arrangements for the presentation of the awards will be announced in due course.


Most Popular

error: Content is protected !!